New Cairo

What Is Bloom Taxonomy and its benefits?

What Is Bloom Taxonomy and its benefits

Bloom’s Taxonomy is an important tool for educators to use when planning their lessons. This is because the Taxonomy provides a way to classify and understand the different levels of thinking and learning. The Taxonomy can help educators to better meet the needs of all learners, by providing a framework for planning differentiated instruction. When used correctly, Bloom’s Taxonomy can be a powerful tool for helping all children to reach their full potential.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!


Bloom’s Taxonomy is a classification of learning objectives into the categories of affective, cognitive and sensory domains. In Early Childhood Education, Bloom’s Taxonomy provides learning levels to increase higher order thinking skills for children of all ages. The levels include remember, understand, apply, analyses, evaluate, and create.

Bloom’s Taxonomy is named after Benjamin Bloom, a psychologist who in 1956 developed the classification of questioning according to six levels of higher cognitive functioning. In the cognitive domain of Bloom’s taxonomy, the major focus is given to the development of knowledge and intellectual skills. As per the complexity, there are six levels of cognitive abilities which are Knowledge, Comprehension, Application, Analysis Synthesis and Evaluation.

The Three Domains of Learning

Bloom’s Taxonomy is a set of three hierarchical models used to classify educational learning objectives into levels of complexity. The domains of learning can be categorized as cognitive domain (knowledge), psychomotor domain (skills) and affective domain (attitude).

Studies by Benjamin Bloom (on cognitive domain), David Krathwohl (affective domain) and Anita Harrow (Psychomotor domain) have been encompassed in the development of this framework. The Three Domains of Learning provide a comprehensive way to think about the objectives we want children to achieve in school.

You can read also: Modern methods of teaching children

The Six Categories of the Taxonomy

Bloom’s Taxonomy is a hierarchical ordering of cognitive skills that can, among countless other uses, help teachers teach and children learn. The “original” Bloom’s taxonomy is still widely used as an educational tool.

At that time, the six categories were changed to use verbs instead of nouns. The six main categories, or hierarchical levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy are: Remembering/Knowledge; Understanding/Comprehension; Application.

Learning that reaches new heights There are six levels of knowledge in Bloom’s Taxonomy: Remember, Understand, Apply, Analyze, Evaluate and Create. Each level builds upon the last, with children gradually gaining a deeper and richer understanding of the material they’re studying.

The Taxonomy can be used in any subject area, and is especially helpful in more difficult subjects such as mathematics or science. When children are able to apply what they’ve learned in a variety of ways, they have a much better chance of retaining

Comments are closed